Reflections of my trip to Brazil


At the beginning of my summer break I was searching for a way to connect my interest in capoeira, an Afro-Brazilian martial art, to sustainability and social entrepreneurship. I spent three weeks in Brazil to better understand how capoeira is utilized within Brazilian society. My trip helped me explore some opportunities of social entrepreneurship through capoeira. I was able to identify opportunities that currently exist and others on the horizon that needs to be explored.
Currently, there are many social projects that engages children to dream through the capoeira classes. By learning capoeira, the children are training their mind and body. They are learning to sing, play instruments, and take responsibilities. In the process, they are also learning to have dreams because they are learning about their African heritage (counter culture history not taught in class. The children gains perspective and scope to participate in society.
Some of the areas that need to be explored through further discussion and dialogue include developing social entrepreneurship opportunities outside of capoeira, financing, healthcare, education, etc.
Over the next few weeks as I am working on define my practicum, I will begin to post my reflections on my trip to Brazil. My objective will be to explore as many of these social entrepreneurship ideas for either my practicum or post-MBA.

About John Costa

I am a farmer in training with a background in finance, organizational sustainability, and project management. My expertise is making the business case for local food enterprises.
This entry was posted in Capoeira, Social Entrepreneurship, Social Movements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment