Living in Close Proximity


Last Sunday, I was having a conversation with some friends about how in places like Japan people live in small space. The theme of this conversation was “How can people live in small space?” Take for example this video of the Hong Kong architecture that made his home in 330 square feet of space.

I am amazed at this. But I wonder, can I or my friends (all big open space loving Americans) live in such tight space? So how do the Honkers and Tokyoites live in such small living space? I think it’s all in our mind. If we train out mind to accept it we can make do with the environment we live in. It’s like my capoeira training is teaching me to play small, low to the ground. Do it long enough and you will feel strange playing standing up.

From a sustainability perspective having small living quarters forces us to share and collaborate more. It makes us think twice about consuming resources endlessly. Can a densely populated city be more equipped to teach system thinking? Will such environments help humans be more qualified to participate in a learning organization based on life experience?

Big questions.

About John Costa

I am a farmer in training with a background in finance, organizational sustainability, and project management. My expertise is making the business case for local food enterprises.
This entry was posted in Capoeira, Practicum, Social Entrepreneurship, Social Movements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

