Trip to Shelter Island and “Songing”


My first trip to the eastern edge of Long Island was memorable. The landscape is dotted with farms, vineyards, and wineries. I even saw a windmill here and there. Than I stepped back into time once I entered Sylvester Manor was just enchanting.

The most memorable part of the day was learning “songing” from Bennett. “Songing” is something Bennett calls we all can do. You don’t have to be a professional. All you have to do is be able to holler. So we practiced songing with the song “Thousands or More“. There’s something about singing that makes you open up to your mind to the surrounding environment. After my introduction to “songing” I felt relieved and at home. Atleast for the next week or so.

About John Costa

I am a farmer in training with a background in finance, organizational sustainability, and project management. My expertise is making the business case for local food enterprises.
This entry was posted in Practicum, Sabbatical, Social Entrepreneurship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

